Brittany Ann & Xylon (Los Angeles, CA) – June 2016

3 words: Best. Week. Ever. The Cottage was so perfect for our get away, and its tranquility brought me back to life again. I can’t say thank you enough for the amazing hospitality. We look forward to staying here again next year! Mahalo!

Emily & Matt K (Hampshire, England) – March 2016

Thank you for providing the perfect Cottage for our honeymoon. The property provided everything that we needed – thank you for thinking of EVERYTHING that we could possibly need (the guide book is brilliant). The property was immaculate and the surprise flowers were such a neat – thank you. There is so much to see on this side of the island, in particular we really enjoyed snorkeling at Kapoho Tide Pools, the Volcano National Park and visiting the many waterfalls. Thank you for your hospitality and we will certainly be recommending your lovely Cottage to our friends and family.

Jessica H (Hilo, HI) – May 2016

My fiance and I rented the Kings Suite and our families rented both OLA Kai Cottage and OLA Kai Views. We had our small wedding on the grounds of OLA Kai and the reception with family and friends at the Studio. It was the most blissful, simply elegant, beautiful day of our lives. We want to thank all of the amazing staff at OLA Kai. They insured that the grounds and homes were perfect. They left fruit and flowers and made us feel like we were staying in a five star resort. It IS a five star resort with the added benefit of being private and all yours to enjoy! My favorite part of the Kings Suite was waking up and seeing orchids growing right outside my bedroom door. There were also orchids growing in the outdoor shower, which I loved! The pool is a comfortable temperature and the hot tub was a hit too. The views of the grounds and ocean are astonishing. My best friend visiting from Atlanta could not believe how charming the whole place was, we were all so appreciative! Mahalo!

Kim A – April 2015

There was a total of 10 of us in the cottage, and the views were amazing. It’s all it’s cracked up to be. Between the two houses, there was space for all of us, and we took turns cooking at each house for our gang. It was a perfect location to get into Hilo for the volleyball tournament and for heading up the coast. The warm ponds that were written about in the book at the houses was a favorite for us. We left the noodles for the next lucky people that stay there to use. Watching the sun rise each morning … fantastic, and the evenings calmed us as we relaxed on the porch or in the hot tub. You will LOVE it!

Ka’ehukai (Oahu, HI) – April 2015

As soon as we approached the gated driveway we were awestruck by the beauty of OLA Kai Views. We were greeted by Maiko and Kazemaru and they had so much aloha! The house is excellent and so peaceful. This property is the perfect place to unwind. We used the studio/game room/gym to practice our dancing. Awesome is the only word I can think of to describe our experience at OLA Kai Views. We are definitely going there again.

Takashi S (Tokyo, Japan) – April 2015

My wife, six-year-old daughter and I spent an unforgettable nine days in this excellent house. This was our first visit to the Big Island, and the house served as our perfect home away from home. After our tiring trans-ocean flight to Honolulu and the frustrating airport rituals — immigration, baggage claim, checking in to the connecting flight to Big Island, etc. —  this house was simply heaven! A warm welcome greeted us, along with a basket full of oranges, grapefruits, and monkey bananas, all hand-picked from the trees on the property. Inside the house everything was immaculate. The rooms were well decorated with the right taste; not overly Hawaiian yet maintaining local flavor and a personal touch. The east looking lanai overlooked a well-kept lawn going downhill, the approach road from the property gate, the forest, and yes, the ocean! We spent a few mornings just watching the clouds roll in from the ocean with heavy rain. Then came an abrupt, crystal-clear sunshine… It was awesome. And the sky full of stars! Stars here were a lot bigger and more brilliant than they are in Tokyo, a truly remarkable experience, one that is just so hard to find in my hectic everyday life. I know I wrote too much about visual impressions, but the place also functions perfectly and had everything we needed to make us feel at home. The location is equally excellent. The neighborhood is so quiet, yet Hilo downtown is just a short drive away (20 min or so). Honomu, a lovely, quaint town with genuine Big Island flavor is even closer, about a five min drive. Honolii beach, a major surf spot on the east coast of the island, is also close. I caught a few good waves there. My daughter very much enjoyed the jacuzzi and table tennis at the studio, which is located just steps from the house. One of the owners, Kazemaru, and Maiko, the caring property manager, were both fluent in Japanese, which was a big plus for us all. We truly love OLA Kai … we will definitely be back!

Madeline K (Madison, Wisconsin) – January 2015

We loved our stay at the Big Island Cottage! The cottage was well-furnished and comfortable, and we especially enjoyed spending time on the gazebo. We couldn’t believe the variety of activities to do right on site (hot tub, ping pong, pool, weight lifting etc.) before or after a long day of exploring. The location of the cottage is also perfect. We loved having a view of the ocean while still feeling like we had some privacy in the beautiful gardens. There were so many great activities to do nearby: a farmers market just down the road, waterfalls a few minutes away, and easy access to Hilo and even Waimea. We hope to come back someday!

Max K (San Jose, CA)- December 2014

We love the place!  We arrived with child and parents, and all of us were delighted with the place. Our child found great places to play and our parents relaxed in the arbor with an ocean view. And we enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. Everyday we had fresh fruits from trees planted around the property (there is a big variety). We highly recommend OLA Kai for a family vacation. It is clean, cosy and has very friendly managers.

Matthew K (San Francisco, CA) – October 2014

My wife and I stayed at the amazing home that Kazemaru and Brian have at the OLA Kai Views, just north of Hilo, HI, and our stay was absolutely wonderful. Kazemaru was very prompt in her communication, extremely helpful, and very, very kind. The house was HUGE (way more than we needed, as we were just a couple), immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. The highlights for us were the huge master shower, the wrap-around porch with a great sunrise view over the ocean, the super comfy bed, and the beautiful grounds that surrounded the house. Kazemaru was very nice and left us a variety of fruits, which we had for breakfast the day after we arrived, and throughout the rest of our week; it was a very thoughtful gesture, and much appreciated. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to everyone.

Abel S (Odessa, TX) – September 2014

It was awesome and the game room had things everyone liked. The hot tub was really cool and could be used even during rain!! The house is also close to some amazing attractions like the gardens. And if you wake up early enough you can see the sun rising over the ocean from the gazebo. Over all this house was an amazing experience and we hope you enjoy it as much as we did!! Mahalo!

Brian J – July 2014

We spent three nights at OLA Kai Cottage. It was very quiet and peaceful – just what we needed. It was a short, scenic drive to Hilo and many other sights. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the gazebo, and the house was equipped with everything we needed. Only wish we could have had more time!

Robert (San Diego, California) – June 2014

Our stay was about 1000 times better than I expected. The house was big and beautiful. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed … never ate at a restaurant once! And the view was amazing! We never met our hosts face to face, and no offense, that’s what we were looking for. They we’re attentive to our emails and checked in to make sure our stay was going well, but we had our privacy in paradise. Nicest people we never met 🙂

From the house it was an easy trip to see waterfalls, volcano’s, beaches and just close enough to town that we could grab whatever we needed from Hilo markets. If you’re reading this I implore you to book with these folks right away … you not only won’t be disappointed but I promise you’ll be happier here than you would’ve imagined.

Dominika Anna M (Honolulu, HI) – November 2012

I was visiting my friend on the Big Island last weekend and was recommended to stay in OLA Kai because it is located close to Hilo, but still secluded. I enjoyed staying there from the minute I drove up through the forest until the minute I left. The house is decorated in modern Hawaiian style with up-to-date amenities (including frozen Margarita glasses in the freezer!). Rooms are spacious with tall cathedral ceilings and plenty of room for a family vacation. You would never feel crowded here. Large kitchen with plenty of cookware; can cook all your meals. The owner put a lot of effort decorating this place; all the small details make the place cozy and charming. And the ocean view from the lanai is outstanding. During the night I enjoyed laying on the deck chair where you have a sky full of stars above your head. On top of it, the property has a huge back and front grassy yard with fruit trees. I think they have banana, papaya maybe mango growing there. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough time to explore the whole property. All in all I had a blast. I liked it so much that there’s been talk about doing this for the next long weekend!